The Passing of Dr. James T. Webb

dr. webb

Last week I received the sad news of Dr. James Webb’s passing. I was not fortunate enough to have met him, but I was greatly influenced by his work and the research and contribution he made to the gifted education field. In truth, I was a bit of a fan.

He was the founder of SENG (Supporting the Emotional Needs of the Gifted) and wrote many books on the subject of gifted education. The one that touched and moved me the most was Searching for Meaning: Idealism, Bright Minds, Disillusionment, and Hope. The book brought me to tears and I immediate recommended it to anyone who would listen.

I really don’t have the words for what it means to lose someone whom you’ve never met but it feels so intensely personal. Dr. Webb enhanced my life, the field I am passionate about, and I feel his  loss deeply. Thankfully, he leaves behind a body of work that reflects his intellect and passion that can influence anyone interested in gifted education. Thank you, Dr. Webb. You will be missed.

Leave a comment